Do you have Google juice?  Google Juice is “a term used to describe the results that follow when you search for your name or your company’s name, according to The Social Media Bible.

Just like with internet forums, you can find a blog for just about anything imaginable. The variety of things people blog about is astonishing: embroidery, reality television, adoption, weight loss, etc. Blogs serve as the perfect medium for people to discuss and analyze their passions or interests; much like I am doing, blogging about my obsession, social media.

Blogs, used properly, can also be an efficient way for companies and individuals to build their Google juice.

News-based blogging started to become mainstream in the mid-1990s with people like Matt Drugde, who created Drug Report through emails to his friends. As the millennium approached, online journaling became increasing popular. I was in middle school during the LiveJournal phase and yes I had one. In honor of this chapter of The Social Media Bible, I searched for the LiveJournal I made in middle school, and oh boy did I find it. I began blogging with LiveJournal in 2002 and I can still go back read the posts I wrote nearly 10 years ago – which were eerie to say the least.

Blogs have significantly grown in the meantime. According to an article I read about 2010 blog trends, “BlogPulse reports that 144,275,043 blogs currently live on the web with 57,472 new blogs created in the last 24 hours. But just because a blog is live/exists does not mean that the blog is actively maintained and updated.” Full article: 2010 Blogging Trends: ‘There’s Only Enough Room in the Blogosphere for the 144 Million of Us,’ by Autumn Morris, http://www.ignitesocialmedia.com/social-media-trends/2010-blogging-trends-blog-growth-statistics/#respond

I am personally more addicted to microblogging on Twitter than traditional blogging. When I first started using Twitter I hated the idea of limiting a post to 140 characters but now it’s one of my favorite aspects of Twitter. I can consume a ridiculous amount of headlines in seconds and pick out the articles I want to spend more time reading.

In this day and age blogs are common practice for many professionals, businesses and even politicians. President Obama announced a few weeks ago that he will now write his own tweets during campaign season, rather than have his PR team do it. Last week he held a ‘town hall’ style meeting via Twitter, check out the article: ‘US President Obama tweets for the first time’ http://ibnlive.in.com/news/us-president-obama-tweets-for-the-first-time/165582-2.html.

Blogs can be an effective way to help build a brand’s image and create a relationship built on trust with consumers. In my opinion, blogs would be especially beneficial to nonprofit organizations to get the word out about their cause with personal testimonies, photos, etc.

