My road rage would be even worse if I didn’t own an iPod. I am rarely in the mood to hear radio morning show chatter and advertisements on my morning commute. Especially when I can just plug-in my iPod Touch and jam out to my favorite tunes – most importantly commercial free.

iPods are not just for music, you download anything from books, TV shows, movies, apps and podcasts. You can download and listen to a podcast about anything you desire. Whether it is keeping up with news in your community, country, world, profession or hobbies, you can find a podcast about it.

I browsed the Podcast section of the iTunes store to evaluate their selection and I was pleasantly surprised. I now have an extensive list of podcasts I need to subscribe to. You can learn to speak a new language or chuckle along with your favorite comedian for free by subscribing to podcasts.

Podcasts are a useful tool companies should utilize to get their message heard. According to a report in The Social Media Bible, 75 percent of journalists prefer rich media, like audio and video podcasts, over print. Another report said that rich media is also a more effective tool for teaching. Depending on the business, companies can use podcasts to communicate with consumers or employees about their products, services message or brand.

Successful podcasts give listeners valuable takeaways and present a strong “What’s in it for me?” An affective podcast shows listeners that you are an expert in your field and create a loyal following. Casey Kasem was the king of sharing obscure trivia with his listeners on his radio show. These helpful tips and facts made him a radio legend, well that and his soothing voice.

Podcast servers like iTunes allow listeners to comment and give feedback to the author. Podcast authors should monitor their listeners’ comments to improve future podcasts and ultimately acquire more followers.

When creating a podcast it is necessary to remember four steps: planning, recording, editing and publishing. Write an introduction and a sign-off. Write out a list of talking points to keep you on track. Now that you have the basics, get started.

